The power of story

images.jpgWhile I was grocery shopping last week, a woman approached me.

“I know you,” she said. “You spoke at my church last year.”

“I remember you,” I said.

She asked if I remembered her son. I did.

Big kid. Transguy with a great sense of humor. When I asked who had a purse story, he was the first to share. Turns out he had two purse stories.

She told me he was doing well. Graduating from high school next month. Just got a new job. Forming a support group for older trans teens and young adults.

“He still talks about you,” she said.

And I was reminded about how important it is that we keep telling our stories.

No matter how much the world has changed.

Or how busy we are.

Or how tired of our own story we might be.

Never underestimate the power of your story.

11 responses to “The power of story

  1. How inspiring! I think it’s easy to get caught up in things we want but don’t have yet, like a million 5-star reviews, or a slew of social media followers. But it’s important to remember that if one person is touched by what we have to say or write, then we’re doing the best that we can as writers. Thanks for sharing this!

    • Nicely put. Yes, it was a nice reminder that we can make a difference person to person. That was my goal when I wrote my book … to influence the life of just one person. But, like you said, we all get caught up in followers and sales and reviews.

  2. Thanks for sharing this! An inspirational reminder.

  3. That’s so powerful. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. Thank you for publishing this. It’s a helpful reminder.

  5. Beautiful. Yes, never stop sharing.

Leave a Reply

