Lawnmower lingo

IMG_0647When W came home from work yesterday, I was assembling my new electric lawnmower on the front porch.

“It’s so cute!” she said.

“Really?” I said.

She knows how I feel about the word “cute.”

“Oh. Right. Handsome.”

“No,” I said.

Neckties and squared off sideburns are handsome. Me? I’m a handsome devil. But a handsome lawnmower?

“I have no clue,” she said.

Once again, my wife was flummoxed by my rules.

I looked at the sleek neon green, lawn-cutting machine.

“Try sporty.”

“Your new lawnmower is sporty,” she said.

We went inside for dinner exhausted by our exchange.

 

 

 

7 responses to “Lawnmower lingo

  1. ha! I will use the word “cute” when it applies. For example, quite sadly, my car is an incredibly cute car. It’s the only appropriate description.

    But that is definitely one sporty lawnmower. 🙂

  2. “Words matter.” 😀

  3. uhhh… I have never seen such a sporty lawnmower , I am impressed ! you know….. if you were to wrap that clippings bin/bag? in ohhh let’s say Flannel, it would never be mistaken for cute by those dang ladies . 😉

Leave a Reply

