Dads and daughters

images[2]Growing up as a tomboy (or mini-butch), my dad taught me how to do the important things in life:

  • Fish.

Keep score at a baseball game.

Throw a split finger fastball.

Shoot pool.

Tie a necktie.

Shoot a layup.

Cook breakfast.

Be loyal.

Be patient.

Never force things.

Work hard.

Keep calm (before it was even a thing).

And always listen to your wife.

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there!

* * *

What did your dad teach you?

 

10 responses to “Dads and daughters

  1. He taught me the importance of family, to respect the lady folk, to spoil your lady as much as possible, to never let your kids hear you fight and always show that you love each other. And that technology is awesome!

    • All good things. Your dad must be a big tech guy.

      • Yes! He was. We always had the latest computer. He and my aunt would always have the battle of the computers. My aunt would get the latest computer and then my dad would get a better one right after that. Which was awesome for us kids. I think mom wanted to strangle him. Lol! Man. I miss him. I could only imagine what he would be like now with all this new technology. Unfortunately, he passed at the very young age of 47.

      • I can see how awesome that would be (for the kids and maybe not so much Mom). Sorry to hear he is no longer here. It’s nice that you have such fond memories.

  2. JFulbright7987

    He taught me that if you are willing to work hard and not let anything stop you, you can be successful. He also taught me that no matter what your children do, you love them and support them unconditionally.

  3. He taught me that people who are mean and/or arrogant (like the girls at school who bullied me) are insecure.

  4. My dad taught me how to make spaghetti with meat sauce, how to change a tire and check my oil, and most of all, how to be kind.

Leave a Reply

