Weekend recap

images[1]

Imagine Miss Daisy in flannel and Doc Marten’s.

W and I ran some errands this weekend. As is our routine, we completed them Driving Miss Daisy fashion with W driving and me riding along in the passenger seat. This is what happens when you are an old married couple with way too much to do on a Saturday afternoon.

W prefers to drive, and I prefer to be driven. I’ll wait until all the giggling stops before I continue …

Anyway, I’ll jump out of the car to run into the drycleaner or return something at the hardware store. And there’s W waiting for me curbside.

This weekend while we were running our errands, I stopped inside a Starbuck’s to grab a late afternoon pick-me-up and use the restroom. It was one of those deluxe Starbuck’s, and I found myself walking, walking, walking to get to the back of the store. In back, a gaggle of college-age girls gathered around a large table studying and chatting and sipping giant plastic cups of coffee through long green straws. They had painted fingernails and long hair pulled back in various fashions or stacked on top of their heads.

In the midst of all of that femininity, I braced myself as I approached the bathroom. Without thinking, I put on the invisible armor I wear whenever I need to use a public restroom. I steeled myself and prepared for anything.

And then I turned the corner and saw two unisex bathrooms. I felt my heart lift and my shoulders relax. I think I heard Sarah McLachlan singing “Angel” somewhere.

imagesI3D4BPMY

In no time, I returned to W and our great errand excursion, a hot cup of joe in hand.

 

4 responses to “Weekend recap

  1. I like to be driven too. I also like the car waiting for me curbside on days when I don’t feel like walking. There’s rarely an errand my husband and I run when I don’t have to make a mad dash into the nearest public restroom. But I never had to contemplate the unisex bathroom. I’d just look at it with a ? in my head and proceed to find the lady in the triangle skirt. Just anothet thing straight people don’t think about. I have a newfound appreciation for unisex bathrooms now.

  2. That’s awesome! Love that they have unisex bathrooms!!

Leave a Reply

