Middleage Butch screams like a little girl

images[2]The 20th Annual HRC Greater Philadelphia Gala is being held on Saturday.

A friend is a table captain and invited W and I to sit with her.

We aren’t familiar with this event, so W googled it while we were laying in bed last weekend.

W: It’s at the Marriott. Tickets are $200 each.

Me: I don’t know. That’s a lot of money.

W: It is, but it’s in the budget. We can afford it.

Me: I’d go if Ellen Page was going to be there. Or maybe Jodie Foster.

W (still reading): It’s black tie optional.

images[8]Me: Or Shane. I’d go if Shane was going to be there.

W: You need to be there. You wrote a book.

Me: Book. Schmook.

W: Chad Griffin is going to be there.

Me: That’s not doing anything for me.

W: Kate Moennig is going to be there!

Me: eeeeeeeeeee!

Me: Do you think I can touch Shane?

W: No. I don’t think that would be appropriate. You can shake her hand though.

Me: Do you think I can rub Shane, like for good luck?

W: No. Absolutely not. That’s creepy.

* * *

We declined my friend’s invitation. “I’ll kiss Shane for you,” she said. “I don’t want to kiss Shane. I want to be Shane,” I replied. W and I say we will go next year when we are power lesbians.

* * *

Who would you pay $200 to see at an event? Who makes you scream like a schoolgirl?

18 responses to “Middleage Butch screams like a little girl

  1. I can’t think of anyone I would pay to see at an event. I’m not into celebs to the point that I would drop that kind of change to be in the same room as them (not to mention the money I’d have to spend to look like I belonged). Do you know how much cool ThinkGeek stuff I could get for $200? Like, $200 worth! Haha! Or, for the price of two tickets, I could almost get a way cool monitor for my computer. But if there was someone who made me scream like a schoolgirl, I would probably go. You should definitely go next year.

  2. Let’s see…Not that I’d want to touch or be her, I’d certainly spend money to see ellen. It’s always been a fantasy. Would I scream like a school girl? Probably not.

  3. Jody Foster in a hot minute. Also…Notorious R. B. G. (Justice Ginsburg).

  4. That’s about what I spend on my family cell phone plan each month. It makes me want to scream, but not in a good way.

    $100/ticket is about my limit for any event. But I can’t say I have much interest in celebrities. Most of the “famous” people I’d care to meet are characters in books. Or writers of them. 🙂

    • Ok, writers work for me, too. I would get giddy for Stephen King, believe it or not. I love Joyce Carol Oates and saw her speak many years ago. That was quite a thrill. Definitely Alison Bechdel. She’s been a major influence when it comes to my work.

  5. I send checks to organizations I like. My idea of torture is to pay $200, dress up, sit at a group table, eat mediocre food, and listen to speeches. I generally don’t do benefits unless they are pay what you can, no one turned away – or if it is a regular concert with the proceeds donated. My max is also about $100.

  6. Can’t think of anyone I’d pay $200 to go see. (at least on my current budget) I have a hissy fit at $80 for concert tickets.

Leave a Reply

