In concert with the Indigo Girls

“Are you going to blog that I cried at the Indigo Girls concert?” W asked.

“Of course not,” I replied.

“I don’t mind,” she said.

“Right, you’re not a butch,” I said.

So there was that. W cried. But not until the “Closer to Fine” encore.

We were five rows from the stage for this special acoustic show.

“Feel free to ask questions,” Emily said right after the opening number, “Power of Two.”

The audience did, and the duo told stories about their kids, getting older and who they’d like to see in concert. (Taylor Swift. Seriously.) When someone asked why the new album doesn’t have a track number 11, they admitted it was a proofreading error.

“We’re never going to be professionals,” Amy said.

And I think that’s the charm of the Indigo Girls. They have this down-to-earth appeal.

They played “Galileo” right before “Closer to Fine.” That made me happy. God, I love that song.

It was a perfect day. Me, W and the Indigo Girls. And then we rode off into the sunset.

 

This is what we saw on the ride home.

 

“Now the parking lot is empty

Everyone’s gone someplace

I pick you up and in the trunk I’ve packed

A cooler and a 2-day suitcase

Cause there’s a place we like to drive

Way out in the country

Five miles out of the city limit we’re singing

And your hand’s upon my knee”

— Indigo Girls, “Power of Two”

* * *

What about you? What’s the last concert you saw?

16 responses to “In concert with the Indigo Girls

  1. The last concert I saw was Brandi Carlile, with the Seattle Symphony. (I cried.)

  2. I honestly never been to concert ever in my life.

  3. Sweet! I bet this was seriously fun!

  4. Its good to be moved by music – especially if you are with someone you love!
    JP

  5. Yeah, butches don’t cry … said no-one! 🙂 … glad you had a blast.

  6. My eyes leaked at their concert a few years back. Happened at Tracy Chapman too. If it doesn’t move you some way powerful why would you go? So glad you and W enjoyed it!

  7. I’m a bad bisexual and have never listened to the Indigo Girls. But now I want to! Last concert I went to was Garth Brooks and I cried. He was my first concert in 1992 and I couldn’t believe I was seeing him again. It was the best concert.

    • That’s a pretty serious violation. If you’re looking for a good place to start, try the “Rites of Passage” album. Can’t say I’m a Garth Brooks fan, but to each her own. I have heard he puts on quite a show. Oh, I do like “Friends in Low Places.”

Leave a Reply

