Butch books

Fun HomeI am obsessed with Fun Home.

Like I’m changing my major to Fun Home.

I’m talking about the graphic memoir by the brilliant Allison Bechdel and the hit Broadway musical based on the book.

I tell W I’m a Fun Homie.

She grimaces.

But buys us tickets for our anniversary next month.

And sometimes sings Ring of Keys in the shower.

I bought Fun Home in 2007 from Giovanni’s Room, a gay bookstore in Philadelphia.

I just finished re-reading it in anticipation of the play.  I was sad like I always am when I finish a good book.

I started thinking about what to read next.  But when you’re a butch lesbian, how do you top Fun Home?

Stone Butch BluesAnd that’s when I read that Leslie Steinberg’s groundbreaking Stone Butch Blues is being made available for download to celebrate Leslie’s Sept. 1 birthday.  Click here to download your free copy.

So, I will be reading Stone Butch Blues tonight.  And thinking about Leslie Feinberg and Allison Bechdel and all the other butch writers who have made it a little easier for the rest of us to be ourselves.

* * *

What are you reading?

25 responses to “Butch books

  1. Oh, Butch! This has always been one of my faves. I’d LOVE to see it on stage. That being said, my master’s thesis was tracing the roots of southern lesbian literature. If you have not read anything by Dorothy Allison, specifically Bastard out of Carolina and Skin, you have NOT lived. Do it. Just do it.

    • I picked up a copy of Bastard Out of Carolina a few months ago at a thrift store but have not yet read it. I will move it to the top of my to-be-read pile. I’ve been meaning to write a post on Best Lesbian books but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Thanks for the recommendation!

  2. This is funny to hear from you after recently reading, “A smart and eloquent memoir about becoming butch, ‘Leaving Normal: Adventures in Gender’ will resonate if you have a proud copy of ‘Stone Butch Blues’ on your shelf, or listen to ‘Ring of Keys’ from the Fun Home musical on repeat.”

    (Source: http://www.autostraddle.com/hidden-gems-of-queer-lit-rae-theodores-leaving-normal-adventures-in-gender-303905/)

  3. One book I throughly enjoyed was “Tomboys: Tales of Dyke Derring-Do” Lynne Yamaguchi and Karen Barber editors. It came out in 1995 by Alyson Publications. It’s a compilation of stories of growing up a rough and tumble tomboy and a lesbian, not a tomboy who turns into a straight woman and discovers her “femininity”.

  4. Thanks for posting that link. After Feinberg died, there was rumor of a free reissue, but it took a while to materialize.
    I am looking forward to Fun Home. Have fun!

  5. My two other favorite memoirs are Zami: A New Spelling of My Name by Audre Lorde, and Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal by Jeanette Winterson. Both are beautifully written.

    • I have Zami and struggled to get through it. I’ll have to try again. I love the Jeanette Winterson memoir. That’s what I was reading prior to Fun Home. You’re right. Beautifully written. Funny and heartbreaking.

  6. Someone I used to know and work with often invested in Fun Home. She and I are still facebook friends, so I got to watch the progression as this show developed and then became such a huge success. She is now the ED of the Phila Film Festival.

  7. I’ve been looking for the rumored free copy/download of Stone Butch Blues for months. I’m excited to see it happen as I didn’t have a few hundred dollars for the rare paper book copy.

    • Tell me about it. I’ve been searching for awhile, too. A paper copy would be nice, but for now I’ll settle for the download. Thought it was a nice gesture by Feinberg’s widow, Minnie Bruce Pratt. Happy reading!

  8. Thanks for the link. I’ve been wanting to read Feinberg’s book. Nothing to add to your reading list. Most of the books I can think of are fiction and I’m sure you’ve read them. My bookshelf is a bit dusty.

  9. I reread Fun Home at least once a year. But even though I regard it as mandatory reading, I was stunned that they made it into a musical. Which then proceeded to win the most coveted award for theater. Is this still the same universe I was born in??
    But, since home is Texas, I’m probably going to have to wait until it tours to see the show. That’s okay. I’m patient.

Leave a Reply

