Boston bound

We leave for vacation this weekend. Me, W and the kids.

If you are a regular follower of The Flannel Files, you know I’m not a fan of leaving the house.  Except for my writers’ group and a really great sale on flannel.

W is a Sagittarius, an adventurer by nature.

Me, I think a good book and a bottle of a craft beer is an adventure.

W has the trip all planned out.  We will be trekking from Philly to Mystic, Conn., Providence, R.I., Plymouth, Mass., Boston and Salem, Mass.  I think that’s the plan.

These are a few of my favorite things.

These are a few of my favorite things.

I will pack those things that bring me comfort. My books, my tiny Moleskine notebooks and silver astronaut pen.  My fleece pajama pants, even though it is summer.  My bright-red Phillies cap, even though we will be in Red Sox territory.

I would pack my spirit of adventure, but I’m not sure I ever got one.  I will bring my sense of humor, because that always comes in handy.

I am hoping to score a Wonder Woman Pez dispenser at the Pez factory in Connecticut, a hot cup of chowder, a slice of pizza at Mystic Pizza.  And maybe time to write a story or two.

* * *

Do you like vacations?  Suggestions for our trip?

10 responses to “Boston bound

  1. Hi, Rae! Vacation sounds like a lot of fun. My husband and I just did a seven day trip through New England in June. Salem Massachusetts and Mystic Connecticut were two of our stops. We also went to Newport Rhode Island, the Berkshires in Massachusetts and the South Beaches of Maine. I used to live in Connecticut. One of the member artists of the Mystic Art Association painted (oils) a portrait of me that is now part of their permanent collection. They rotate the art that hangs on the walls so there’s never a guarantee as to whether my portrait will be up or not, but if you feel like it check it out and see if you find me. It was 21 years ago so I look a little different. (I said “a little”) The artist is Peg Bourque. In fact, today is her birthday. Have a safe and fun trip!

  2. I like *being in* a new place, but I don’t like *getting there*. Planes, trains, and automobiles are not my idea of a good time. So I love to travel, but I hate traveling. If that makes any sense. 🙂

  3. Here’s what we’ve discovered in a couple of months worth of weekends at the CT shore:

    Ice cream: Ashley’s, in a strip mall on Route 1 in Guilford (and maybe New Haven). The best ice cream in the known universe. Really. You can thank me later.

    Donut: Beach Donut Shop, on Route 1 in Clinton. Amazing donuts. Like a little bit of heaven, right there in your mouth.

    Muffin: Cilantro, on the Green in Guilford. The corn-berry muffins are to die for. Pretty mean espresso, too.

    Pizza: Skip the famous places in New Haven. Long lines and mediocre pizza. Go to Al Forno on Route 1 in Old Saybrook. Have the white pizza with carmelized onions and pancetta, or the white pizza with clams.

    Clam roll and lobster roll: Johnny Ad’s on Route 1 in Old Saybrook.

    Fish & Chips: Black Seal, Essex.

    The steam train in Essex is a fun way to waste an afternoon. (And very butch!)

    • Awesome! Thanks so much for taking the time to write down your favorites. We have marked down your recommendations. I’m all over the corn-berry muffins and the white pizza with clams. Will report back.

  4. Just came back from a week on Cape Ann (30 minutes north of Salem). Highly recommend driving out to Rockport (Bearskin Neck is touristy but fun shopping) and driving around the coast of Cape Ann (Rt. 127 & 127A). There are great clam and lobster places – and Good Harbor Beach. Note that all of the large beaches are “free” if you walk in, but charge upwards of $20 to park.

Leave a Reply

