Gone Girl teaches this girl a lesson

gone-girl-book-cover-med[1]I had forgotten how much I love books.

It’s not that I haven’t been reading.  I read every night for at least 20 minutes or so.  I try to sneak in reading wherever I can — at the doctor’s office, in the car waiting to pick up my son, sprawled out on the couch for a quick work break.

Lately, I have been reading a lot of nonfiction: a book on introverts, books on gender, an essay collection.  Nonfiction seems substantial and important.  Worthy of my precious time.  They are books that say look at me, look at the important things I’m reading.

And then I spotted a hardcover copy of Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl on a rack in a thrift store for $2.25.  I bought it.  I had heard from another writer that the writing was good, exceptional even.  Besides, the book only cost as much as an 8 ounce can of Red Bull.  What did I have to lose?

I knew Gone Girl had appeared on various best seller lists a few years ago.  I didn’t let this stop me.  I’m usually not a fan of mainstream books.  My name is Middle-age Butch, and I am a book snob.

Gone Girl isn’t even the genre that I typically read.  I’m not big into mysteries or thrillers.  Sorry, Agatha Christie.

But Flynn had me in the palm of her at the get go.

Gone Girl is about a suburban wife who goes missing.  That’s where the story starts.  Is the husband the killer?  I found my allegiance switching from the wife to the husband and back again a whole bunch of times.

Flynn writes beautifully.  I couldn’t put this book down.  I started to pace myself near the end, because I didn’t want the ride to end.

Thank you, Gillian Flynn for reminding me that books don’t have to be heavy and serious to be worthy.  They can be fun.

* * *

Have you read Gone Girl?  What are you reading right now?

3 responses to “Gone Girl teaches this girl a lesson

  1. Haven’t read that one, currently I am reading 12 years a Slave- Solomon Northup, I have the movie, but the book is in my opinion better, the movie was hard to watch, the book is even more graphic but I am able to mentally block the vivid images the words create .

    • We saw the movie and thought it was very good. Certainly hard to watch. I can still recall various scenes that have stuck with me because of their brutality, especially scenes involving the slave Patsy. I would be interested in reading the book and hearing the story in Northup’s own words.

  2. I loved this book for the writing and the storytelling. You are right, heavy and serious, light and funny, or anything in between. There is shear pleasure in reading a well-written book.

Leave a Reply

