I have seen the light, and it is orange

xx

Four lesbian characters in a row.

As in Orange Is the New Black.

About five minutes into the first episode, I raised my arms in triumph and exclaimed that “the lesbians have their TV back.”

The L Word premiered in 2004 — 10 years ago. Ah, Shane, how I miss you. Since then, there has been a spike in the number of lesbian characters on TV. But there hasn’t been anything to rival the dyke drama that was The L Word.

If you haven’t seen it, OITNB is smart and funny and tender and touches on such hot-button topics as racism, religion, morality, sexuality and gender.

xx

You want me, Alex?

Plus, Laura Prepon is totally hot with those glasses and that dark hair.

And, hey, isn’t that Natasha Lyonne from But I’m a Cheerleader?

In the spirit of the show, W and I have taken to calling each other by our last names. And when I’m feeling particularly amorous, I call her “Dandelion.”

I’m sure there are those out there displeased that the only show with a major lesbian presence takes place in a federal prison.

“Lesbians are very dangerous,” as Counselor Healy says.

But this lesbian is just happy to have lesbian characters back on the small screen.

Have you seen OITNB? What are you watching these days?

13 responses to “I have seen the light, and it is orange

  1. Love that series, but could you tell the main actors aren’t really lesbian, or even bi? Toward the end of the series, I actually felt sorry for them because I didn’t believe they really wanted to be kissing. Love the series otherwise.

  2. Yes, I absolutely love that programme and can’t wait for series 2. It took me a couple of go’s at watching it though as I just couldn’t make head nor tail of the storyline to begin with but suspect that was just me!

  3. Laura Prepon…..she was the best. I hated her and loved her.

  4. I haven’t seen this series yet (im not even sure if its available in the UK) but ive seen various clips on various websites and they look interesting/hot/funny/hot (have I said that already?)… Perhaps you could update us when you have watched the whole series? And who knew those glasses could look that sexy?

    • Sure, I’ll give a review when we wrap up season 1. Something about girls in glasses that is way sexy. And what is it with lesbians and prison sex? There was a fair amount of behind-bars sex in The L Word.

  5. Learning patience waiting for the second season.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

