Giving thanks

Happy ThanksgivingIt’s Thanksgiving Eve, and we’re busy preparing for tomorrow.  When all is said and done, there will be 15 of us sitting down to turkey dinner with all the trimmings.

Six years ago, W and I had been dating for about a year when she suggested that we host Thanksgiving together.  We would use my apartment because it was roomier and invite both our families.

She looked at me with those big brown eyes and smiled that big smile.  What was a butch to do?

I thought it was a crazy idea.  Our families had never met.  In my family, “pass the crescent rolls” means someone will throw one in your direction.  There was so much that could go wrong above and beyond superficial crescent roll-related injuries.

imagesNCWFCGVNBut I was in love, and love makes people do crazy things.

So, we bought groceries and set up card tables, and W cooked.

I wore my best flannel.

It was a great Thanksgiving.

We’ve hosted Thanksgiving as a couple ever since, although now we do it in the house that we share.  Both of our families come and enjoy each other’s company.

We have certain traditions:  There’s the pumpkin-shaped ceramic dish that W likes to use to serve the crescent rolls.  The baking of the pumpkin bread that has been passed down from W’s grandmom to our youngest boy.  W makes stuffing early in the morning, fries up a small sample, and we all have a taste.  I’m probably biased, but W makes the best stuffing in the world.  My dad brings and pours the wine.  The good stuff.

Thanksgiving has always been W’s favorite holiday.  She’s always hosted it at her house.

I would tell you that now Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday, too.  But I don’t want to sound all soft and mushy and sentimental.  That’s not very butch.

xx

Inside, I’m just like this.

Maybe tomorrow for at least a few moments I’ll let myself be a little soft and mushy in the inside — like mashed potatoes.  I’ll think back to that first Thanksgiving, and I’ll give thanks.  Thanks for family and friends.  A roof over my head and clothes on my back.  A feast to share with those I love best.  And stuffing.  Thanks for stuffing.

But I’ll give a special thanks to W for giving me a push to open up and dream big and live life and let others in.

* * *

Happy Thanksgiving!  What are you thankful for? 

5 responses to “Giving thanks

  1. Tough question, I think culturally Jews tend not to be thankful, grateful, or forgiving- just not an active part of our religious upbringing. Tonight I am grateful that Donna likes to throw a party, that I learned how to cook in order to seduce her, and for the turkey recipe that I use from an old issue of Gourmet (drape the turkey with cheesecloth soaked in a stick of butter and baste, baste, baste), and for the fresh (dead) turkey from the Greenmarket.

  2. My girlfriend and I are hosting Thanksgiving at our house this year and I’m nervous, so I find this reassuring. Thank you! It’s our second year together but really the first time our parents will spend significant amounts of time together. At least there will be wine!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving!! I am thankful for my beautiful daughters and wonderful grandkids and to finally be me.

Leave a Reply

