A great day to be a butch

Shave and a haircutI got my haircut today, which is always a good thing.  I don’t go to a barber but to a haircuttery type place in town.  I go to the same stylist, who knows me by now.  I don’t have to tell her that I want my sideburns squared off and not in points.  She doesn’t ask me if I want fringe in the back.  She’s no longer afraid of cutting my hair too short.

Anyway, I went in for a haircut and left with a side of swagger.  A short haircut will do that.  It will make you stand a little taller and walk a little jauntier.  Ask any butch.

Butch commandment #7

7. Thou shalt not touch my hair.  (Except for you, W.  You can rub and tousle at the end of the day, baby.)

On the way to my car, I saw her.  Another butch in need of a trim.  I spotted her right away.  Short hair; thick, black glasses; a polo shirt; a half sleeve of tattoos.  I didn’t need to see her truck with the HRC sticker to know.  I knew in a second.

We both nodded.  Because that’s what we do.  The butch nod.

It’s a great day to be a butch, I thought.

5 responses to “A great day to be a butch

  1. I do enjoy the Butch Nod

  2. My previous girlfriend just could not get a butch haircut. She had a short hair cut which was always too feminine for her. Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

