Breast intentions

Sigmund FreudW got a mammogram earlier this week. As she was relating her experience, I mentioned that I could never be a mammogram technician.

Me: I know that they say that they see so many breasts that it no longer seems like a big deal, but I think I would get so caught up in the whole thing.  Because they’re breasts.

W: You’re probably right.  You shouldn’t be a mammogram tech.

It’s always good to know our limitations.  Mine involves working directly with breasts.

A friend texted me last night and mentioned something about a gynecologist appointment.  Which got me thinking about breasts again.  (This happens frequently.)

We started texting back and forth.

At one point, I advised her to take shallow breaths but typed, “Take shallow breasts.”

I had been telling myself NOT to write breast when the subject of the gynecologist had been introduced.  Don’t say breast, don’t say breast, don’t say breast, I told myself.  Because I know me pretty damn well.

“Talk about Freudian,” I texted back.

* * *

Anyone have a Freudian slip they’d like to share?

8 responses to “Breast intentions

  1. I know what you mean. I had a love hate relationship with gym class in junior high and high school because we were always required to group shower after class, and some of the girls in my gym classes were pretty much exhibitionists in the locker room. On one hand it was a dream come true, but at the same time I would feel somewhat guilty when it would turn me on, which was most days. I was in the closet at that time, and I don’t think that the other girls had any clue as to my orientation?

  2. Most of my partners have said that they hated showering in gym class, which some of my straight male friends can’t understand. It’s actually made me feel better when another gay woman tells me that she can relate to my having in many ways enjoyed it, that way I don’t feel quite as guilty about it. I tried my best to never look at the girls that seemed really shy in the showers, but I sometimes couldn’t help but peek at the ones who would prance around in the buff. Does that make me sound like a bad person? I hope not!

  3. I, for one, could not be a proctologist. 😉

Leave a Reply

