Being thankful for being gay

If you missed the bulletin, W and I are having 15 people for Thanksgiving dinner.  Which always sounds weird.  Like we’re a couple right out of a Stephen King novel and we’re eating people for dinner.

Anyway, we’ve been busy painting and cleaning and sprucing the place up and preparing to cook and serve a feast for a party of 15.

Despite the craziness, I wanted to make sure to take a few minutes and remember what I’m thankful for.

I love me a hot shower

There’s the basic stuff like food, clothing and shelter.  Nary a day goes by that I don’t express thanks for hot showers and a warm bed.  Oh, and my soft, fuzzy PJ pants.  These things make me happy on a daily basis, and I realize that they would be considered luxuries by many people.

Of course, I’m thankful for family and friends.  W and I have so many people in our lives who are supportive of our relationship.  That’s not always a given with gay and lesbian couples.

And then there’s W.  Somehow, I found a woman who thinks my neurotic idiosyncrasies are adorable and not a sign of mental illness.  “You’re so cute,” she says, watching me pack and unpack and repack and unpack and repack and unpack and repack and unpack and repack a care package to a friend.

I was thinking this morning that I’m thankful that I’m gay.  How weird is that?

This butch can never have too many pairs

On good days, I love being a big ol’ butch lesbian.  I love wearing flannel shirts and Dr. Martens boots.  I love not wearing make-up and showering with Irish Spring.  I love women.  I love shopping in the young men’s section for myself.  I love neckties and suspenders and vests and wallets.  Baseball hats and jerseys.  Thermal shirts worn under a favorite T-shirt.

I ‘m thankful for being out and being me and living in a time and place where I can do all of that with very little backlash.

And, thankful that I really don’t give a damn anymore about what other people think.

How about you?  What are you thankful for?

11 responses to “Being thankful for being gay

  1. The first line….15 people for Thanksgiving dinner..I thought ok she’s nuts! Or very very dedicated! lol…I had 25 people in my house once upon a miserable time for Thanksgiving. I thought there wasn’t enough liquor in the world to help me get through it! But I did.

    I am truly happy for you that there seems to be some contentment in your life..the way you’ve structured it. That W accepts you wearing flannel shirts (hey don’t knock ’em till you’ve tried them) is an added bonus to life that not everyone can find but everyone seeks. Happy Thanksgiving and moist turkey to you! 🙂

    • There will be wine. And we somehow get through Thanksgiving every year. W cooks so I just follow orders.

      There is contentment in my life. A lot of it. Even though I have my own struggles. I guess that’s what therapy is for.

      Thank you for your kind words. Happy Thanksgiving to you, too.

  2. I am so inspired about you being thankful about stuff. So at the risk of sabotaging your post with my gratitudes, I’ll write my own 🙂

  3. I am thankful I am NOT having 15 people over for dinner any time in the near future….
    I am thankful for a glorious woman in my life and the ability to live my life with her without being repeatedly violently attacked for it.
    Hurrah!
    Also hurrah for dressing up as butch as you like

  4. I’m thankful for a soulmate who accepts me broken parts.

Leave a Reply

