Things that I’m doing to avoid doing the things that I should be doing

Things that I am doing right now:

  • Eating Lucky Charms and wondering how General Mills makes them so magically delicious.  Maybe it’s his special military training.  Seriously though, they are delicious.
  • Texting my college roommate about a soap opera called Capitol that we used to watch back in the day.
  • Texting my son with information that they are expanding our local Apple store.  Ha!  Mom knows something that you don’t, Mr. Smarty Pants (not his real name).
  • Singing to the cats.  Operas don’t write themselves, people.
  • Searching craigslist for a white accent table for the newly painted blue room.
  • Sending randy text messages to W.  But not too randy because she is at work and that’s totally inappropriate (and she gets distracted by my flirtations).
  • Thinking about scrubbing the bathroom floor.
  • Screwing around on WordPress.
  • Writing this post.
  • Thinking that I should take a 15-minute power nap.
  • Wishing the kids came home at 4 a.m. instead of 4 p.m.

Things that I should be doing right now:

  • Scrubbing the bathroom floor.
  • Scooping the litter boxes.
  • Answering my copy editor’s queries.
  • Writing the last article for this week’s deadline.
  • Taking our pile of to-be-donated books to the library.
  • Reading Life of Pi before W yells at me again.  (We both read the book years ago, but decided to read it again before we see the movie.  The movie comes out next week.)
  • Vacuuming the bedroom.
  • Doing the laundry.
  • Picking up my flannel shirts from the drycleaner.  Yes, I get my flannel shirts drycleaned.  Well, just the good ones.  Yes, I have “good” flannel shirts.
14 responses to “Things that I’m doing to avoid doing the things that I should be doing

  1. Love this. I’m always looking for random pieces of furniture on Kijiji, same sort of deal as Craigslist. And I watch movie trailers, over and over and over again. 🙂

  2. Man, Things I Should Be Doing: Making a list of things I should be doing perhaps to inspire me to do those things.

  3. My list would be book length. I am the world’s biggest procrastinator.

  4. I have yet to meet a butch who does not love Lucky Charms.

  5. My house is pretty clean at the moment thanks to me avoiding the things I should be doing. Well other than cleaning the house.

  6. Good god. My list of what I should be doing rather than reading awesome blog posts is longer than my wife’s and Thing #1&2’s drain clogging hairs combined. Thanks for the laugh.

    Den

  7. Just like there are “good” Hawai’ian shirts (locals call them Aloha shirts). Some can be kind of pricey.

Leave a Reply

