Mandatory post after getting Freshly Pressed

In reality, we are lesbians and not suitcase-toting bears.

W and I have returned from our weekend without kids and cats and chores and the computer.

We had an awesome time.  So awesome, in fact, that I can’t post any of the super-sexy details.

Well, I could.

But I’d have to kill you.  Or, blush a whole lot.

I can reveal that the weekend included good food and good company, a really nice bottle of Chianti and several rounds of shots.  Oh, and our room had a sleep number bed.  We were all Beverly Hillbillies over that marvel of modern technology.  Firm, soft, firm, soft, firm, soft.  You try it, Ellie Mae.

No, but it’s close.

Before we left for the weekend, I got an e-mail from WordPress informing me that I was going to be Freshly Pressed.

I knew from that moment that it was going to be an exciting weekend.

My words on the WordPress homepage for all the world to see.

I’ve only been blogging for a short amount of time, but I’ve written some poignant and heart-felt posts about such tough topics as coming out, depression and being butch.  Really.

And, I get Freshly Pressed writing about fish sandwich-induced trauma.

My friend told me that I should focus on the Fish-a-majig fiasco in therapy instead of my mother.

Could have been me if it wasn’t for my rigid-on-gender-roles mother.

For those of you who are new here, my mother never let me take drum lessons when I was a kid because, apparently, drums are for boys.  This is why I never fronted for a kick-ass all-girls band like The Runaways and grew up to become a lesbian.

That is my story in a nutshell.

Which has now culminated in WordPress fame and glory.

So, newcomers, welcome to The Flannel Files, where I hope to amaze and entertain you with more true tales about my many unique neuroses, unfounded anxieties and cats.

If you’ve been here all along, thanks for your support and for letting me know that it’s not weird to be creeped out by Mrs. Butterworth, the talking maple syrup bottle.  You are good people.

14 responses to “Mandatory post after getting Freshly Pressed

  1. Hooray, hooray! Many congrats and well-deserved.

  2. partlycloudypessimist

    My girlfriend and I did the same thing when we went away last. There was a sleep number bed in our hotel room and we spent the whole time changing the softness and the firmness. We ended up falling asleep on each other’s chosen softness. It was delightful. 🙂

    I’m glad you two had a wonderful getaway. I recently purchased a groupon for my girlfriend and I and now I am beginning to regret that. It is for a hotel down in Atlantic City, New Jersey… and, well, the hurricane is currently beating that region up quite a bit. I hope the building is still standing or I am demanding my money back!

  3. Glad you had a good time away. And FP – you totally deserve, even if they decided to post the one about fish sandwich-induced trauma. We all know how deep and thoughtful (as if full of deep thoughts) you really are 😉

  4. Congratulations on being fresh pressed. You certainly deserve it with your entertaining writing. Sending you a big “Whoo hoo!”.

  5. Pingback: Holy recap batman! | honeyimalesbian

  6. I just wanted to say thanks for reading my first post! I’m really glad I joined wordpress in regards to finding another outlet and meeting other lgbtq writers! I have a pipe dream about starting a new lesbian Zune and I may ask you to submit if I ever get it jump started 🙂 thanks again, definitely following! Yay, middle aged butch women exist happily!

    • Yeah, there is such a thing as happily after coming out. I’m far removed from the stress and anxiety associated with coming and being out. It does get better, and I’m living proof of that. If you would have told me 20 years ago that I’d be living my life as an out butch and going to bed every night with my wife, I would have told you that you were crazy. You’ll get to where you want and need to be. It’s a journey. You need to be patient and kind to yourself.

  7. Rest assured, Mrs. Butterworth is 100% creepy.

  8. “My friend told me that I should focus on the Fish-a-majig fiasco in therapy instead of my mother.”

    I. L*O*V*E. This. Blog!

    ‘Kayso, I’m gonna read some more posts as soon as I stop hyperventilating from laughing so much.

Leave a Reply

